Updating

Today I thought I had better do my updating, programmes that I check for the latest updates. Its just something I do, see if a better version is available and if any extra features have been added. At the moment of writing there are 2 large updates that are due to Windows. Service Pack 1 for Windows 7 and Internet Explorer 9, not sure if the latter will be updated along with the Windows 7 update.

Sometimes its annoying as I’ve bought a piece of software only to find out that instead of an update I have to buy another version that I didn’t know had come out. But I do like Windows 7, but there again I liked Windows ME when that came out although almost all the ‘techie’ people slagged it off.
Not sure how long I will go on with the upgrading, for a start I’ve had 4 new computers over the last 15 years or so and I can’t keep doing that as no sooner do I buy a relatively fast, up to date machine than its obsolete.

I’m also not into this argument about Microsoft, Apple, Linux etc at the moment from what I see, Apple is on a roll, with their IPod, IPhone, and now IPad, beautifully designed and bought in their millions, but it doesn’t mean I have to join them, never was one to be ‘one of the gang’ so to speak. I do curse Windows sometimes but I’m using a piece of software by Microsoft that hardly ever gets a mention but which I think is absolutely brilliant and works perfectly, step forward Microsoft One Note.


I’ll leave the brand battles to other, its like clothes, names on labels have no appeal to me whatsoever, the only label I look at is the price label and if that is ok to me then that will do. No I won’t be on any catwalk soon but by some of the sights I see walking around I won’t look a total fool either, but, everyone to their own.

What do you think?

