Nice to see people actually reading my blogs, but why no comments?

I see there is a steady stream of people who are kind enough to actually look at what I write, but I have no indication as to what they actually think about my prose. I was hoping I could learn from any comments made to try and improve my writing, but maybe it doesn’t need improving, or at least appears so.

But the main theme at the moment is loss of jobs and the implications. When I think back over the years each time I have lost my job it has been around, or near to, Christmas. Not sure if this is deliberate or for tax purposes or what but that is what has happened, and sure enough some jobs are being lost as I write.

The date when people actually leave will be December 31st so they will start the New Year unemployed and the prospects of other jobs is, to put it mildly, bleak at the moment. Some have voluntarily given up their jobs for an extra ‘incentive’ i.e. more severance pay but these people are either ready to give up work or might have something else to go to anyway, which is great, leave, get paid extra for leaving, then start a new job.

The first time I lost my job I was 20 years old, unmarried, but planning on getting married the following year. Our plans for a house, and everything else were put on hold and as it was a winter no one was hiring. This has happened a couple of more times since but of course being older now I am in a category that finds it extra hard to get employment, the over 60’s.

At the moment I have no idea what is happening, only the broadest of outlines have been given about job losses but the total seems to around 80 across all departments. It would be nice to be able to give up my job and have more time for myself but I still have to live and pay my way and my lottery tickets have numbers that never seem to appear in any configuration that would give me a payout. Merry Christmas? I’m not so sure at the moment. 

What do you think?

