I’m getting deep here, not a place I’m use too.

I’m 62 years old, and I understand life less now than when I was 12. I’m not a philosopher, sage, or even a wise old man even though with age is suppose to come wisdom. But a number of things baffle my brain more with each passing day, and I don’t have the answers and don’t know where to find them. I read lots of stuff, health, fitness, life, death, technology, sport, the list is nearly endless, and I try and understand what is actually written, not just skip over it and not actually understand what I have just read.

But then I start thinking, eat fruit and veg, exercise, don’t eat this or that or drink too much, regiment your life in a certain direction and you will live a long and healthy life. But here’s the conundrum, you don’t, well a lot of people certainly don’t as I go to ever more funerals of people I have known the older I get. And now I’m hearing of 10 years old having cancer treatment, WHAT? These kids haven’t even began to live and now they have diseases of life threatening proportions, why?

And that word why crops up all the time in so many different ways, I see men smoke, drink and generally the only exercise they get is opening the door of a bar, and they are in their 70’s and 80’s yet have known people who eat sensibly, drink, but not to excess, and take exercise, and guess what? Yes they are now dead, why?

I loose track of the health and fitness programs, videos, magazine articles, all proclaiming this and that life enhancing remedies but all I see is people crippled after even slight exercise, or even injured in the process, and other people who take this fitness thing to extremes with diets and fitness that make them look like skeletal equivalents of the living dead. So what does it all mean? Well that’s just it, I don’t know, this is not about the meaning of life, its more to do with why does life deal some people with all the pluses and many, including 10 year olds who need chemo treatment, all the minuses?

2 thoughts on “I’m getting deep here, not a place I’m use too.

  1. The scientist inside me contends that life is one huge experiment run by a madman who put too many petri dishes on the counter, wandered off to enjoy a smoke, got hit by a bus and is now lying comatose in hospital. And he took his notes with him! I enjoyed your musings!

What do you think?

