The world is getting smaller, very small.

I’ve been lurking, looking at peoples blogs see how the wind blows so to speak, see what topics are topical, and the subject matter is varied. But one thing comes across very forcibly, people travel to far off places with such ease these days, there must be very few places which have not been visited on this planet, bar off course some of the remotest outposts.

But then I got to thinking, in my limited way where have I been? And this is where I surprised myself as I love traveling as much as I can the list of places I have been too just never occurred to me, until I look at the pictures I have taken that is. So where have I been, well here goes, and its not a brag or anything like that, just a confirmation of how small the globe is when me, and I’m no big shot, can have been to so many places.

Europe:

Holland, German, France, Italy, Belgium, Switzerland, Spain, and its islands of Ibiza, Majorca (or Mallorca as it is known), Greece, or more correctly the Greek islands of Corfu, Rhodes, Crete, Cyprus, Gibraltar, and of course most of the UK. And many places within these places.

Elsewhere: USA

Memphis, Las Vegas, New York, Chicago, Denver

Just looking at the list amazes me even today as back in the 1950’s and 60’s it was just not imaginable that I would go to so many places when the furthest I had been was from one end of the UK to the other. But now we have friends who go cruising every year to some different hemisphere, and people take these ‘cheap’ airlines and go away to another country just for a weekend. If fact from where I live an overnight ferry could take me to Holland or Belgium on a Friday or Saturday, spend a day there, then come back and be back home ready for the start of a new week.

Although the care free days of travel have long gone, I still get a buzz from airports, ferry ports, or even train and bus stations as travel consumes me, I just don’t get to do enough of it, but I can’t complain really.

What do you think?

