Messing about again.

I am in the process of trying to merge 2 of my blogs into 1 so bear with me as I’m not sure how this will turn out. But I was checking over what I have written on my blogs and realised that there is some overlapping and so I am reducing the number of blogs I have, it may well end in disaster but lets see. The blog I am going to delete when I can get all this sorted out is Off on a tangent into obscurity which was supposed to be a collection of totally irrelevant musings and to be honest I’m doing that on this blog hence the tidy up, well that’s the theory.

Oh and thanks to the many people who have taken the trouble to look in on my last entry but as my wife will confirm I do have a tendency to look upwards at buildings to look at the chimney stacks as I know the construction of such things, especially those with multiple chimney pots, disguise an intricate construction unseen until buildings are demolished and the flues leading up to those chimney stacks can be seen winding there ways from the fireplace, wherever it may be in the building, to a central point, the chimney stack.

I missed a trick when many old buildings in Hull were being demolished as there laid bare was the brickwork that enabled all that smoke and the fumes to make its way out into open skies. And the reason, unfortunately that many of the older buildings built of stone were badly stained by the soot coming out of the chimneys and it only took a little rain to make that soot into a messy mess. Over time of course all that smoke and soot caused many problems not least with peoples health, we have learned from the past but all of our energy waste still has to go somewhere and these days hardly any of us see where to.

What do you think?

